National Heroes’ Day

 

bonifacio2Today is National Heroes’ Day in the Philippines. It’s the day we raise our San Miguel bottles to the brave Filipinos who risked their lives to bring about our independence. As I watch the news about what’s happening in other countries: raging wars and human atrocities, I feel all the more grateful for simple things that I get to do like blogging and enjoying this holiday, because those heroes made this place safe for me.

I’m not saying the independence we have in our country is perfect or absolute. But I’d just like to make a little shout-out to my favorite National Hero: Andres Bonifacio, who was one of the first Pinoys to say “Hey, let’s go and organize ourselves on a national level so we can stand up against those bastard colonizers who are killing our people and exploiting our land!” … not verbatim, of course.

He’s the guy at the far end of the table, leading the vow to fight for freedom more than a hundred years ago :P

 

Leave a comment

Urban Visualizer

Navigate complexity to visualize and reach your most worthwhile goals.

Nic Freeman

Stories about life, travel and exploration

Live to Write - Write to Live

We live to write and write to live ... professional writers talk about the craft and business of writing

Sounding Out!

pushing sound studies into the red since 2009

from scratch club

{making} food matter together

style sprite

A spirited documentation of my personal style.

The Style Voyager

Hong Kong Fashion and Lifestyle Blog.

amaryllis log

create something

Sue Schlabach

MAKER OF ART WITH INK, PAINT, PAPER, OLD PRINTS AND CANVAS

Eleventh Stack

A books, movies, and more blog from the staff at the Carnegie Library of Pittsburgh - Main.

101 Books

Reading my way through Time Magazine's 100 Greatest Novels since 1923 (plus Ulysses)

surface & surface

Art & Design Choice Cuts

Inkjot

little pictures I like to draw

The Craving Chronicles

I have a sweet tooth and I'm not afraid to use it

in pursuit of more

the blog about living with (just a little) less